This content is from: Direct Tax

Women in Business Law Awards Americas 2021: shortlist revealed

The Women in Business Law Awards is excited to present its shortlist for the 2021 Americas Awards.

The Women in Business Law Awards has released the full list of finalists for its 2021 Americas awards.

The awards bring together the whole of the Americas to recognize the leading women lawyers on both continents and celebrate the law firms that have launched impressive initiatives to promote diversity and women in the practice of law.

Winners will be announced on June 10 2021.

A preview of the practice area and Rising Star finalists can be found below, but the full list of the finalists for all is available on the awards website. The Women in Business Law Awards research team carefully selected each finalist after a thorough research period which included an analysis of direct submissions, followed by interviews with law firms and in-house teams, client feedback, and much deliberation

Individual practitioners and Rising Stars are judged no only on the complexity of the work the nominees completed in 2020, but also on their advocacy, influence, and thought leadership in relation to the promotion of women in the practice of law and within their practice area specialisms

Law firm initiatives are recognised across various categories, including for gender diversity and work-life balance.

All of the work accepted for shortlisting closed during the research period, which was from January 1 to December 31 2020. The awards do not recognise cases, deals, or transactions completed outside of the research period.

If you have any questions regarding our research process, please contact John Harrison:

The Women in Business Law Awards will be announcing the winners on June 10 through a virtual awards presentation, followed up with write ups and analysis of all of the most significant work. To find out more - and to find out about how you can promote your success - please contact Rebecca Synnott:

Preview of the Women in Business Law Awards Americas 2021 shortlist:

Tax Lawyer of the Year

Andrea Darling de Cortes - Holland & Knight
Isabel Laventure - FERRERE
Jane May - McDermott Will & Emery
Julia Ushakova-Stein - Fenwick & West
Kim Marie Boylan - White & Case
Lucy Farr - Davis Polk & Wardwell
Susan Ryba - Baker McKenzie
Victoria N Ozimek - Bracewell
Vivian Casanova - Barbosa Müssnich Aragão

Tax dispute resolution Lawyer of the Year

Catalina Hoyos - GodoyHoyos Goh
Julia Ushakova-Stein - Fenwick & West
Kim Marie Boylan - White & Case
Lilian López - BLP Legal
Susan Ryba - Baker McKenzie
Vivian Casanova - Barbosa Müssnich Aragão

Transfer pricing Lawyer of the Year

Clarissa Gianetti Machado - Trench Rossi Watanabe
Jacqueline Doonan - Deloitte
Kim Marie Boylan - White & Case
Larissa Neumann - Fenwick & West
Michelle Sledz - KPMG
Susan Fickling-Munge - Duff & Phelps

Tax Rising Star

Letícia Pelisson - Barbosa Müssnich Aragão
Cristina de la Piedra - Estudio Echecopar
Constanza Eva Ferreyra Fernández - Marval O’Farrell Mairal
Graham Magil - Weil Gotshal & Manges
Narissa Lyngen - White & Case

The material on this site is for financial institutions, professional investors and their professional advisers. It is for information only. Please read our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy before using the site. All material subject to strictly enforced copyright laws.

© 2021 Euromoney Institutional Investor PLC. For help please see our FAQ.

Instant access to all of our content. Membership Options | 30 Day Trial