This content is from: France

Former official wins European tax award

Michel Aujean won the Editors' Choice award for his contribution to EU tax policy at International Tax Review's fourth annual European Tax Awards in London on Thursday night (May 22)

Michel Aujean won the Editors' Choice award for his contribution to EU tax policy at International Tax Review's fourth annual European Tax Awards in London on May 22.

Aujean, who now advises companies on EU tax policy as a partner of Taj, the tax and legal member firm of Deloitte in France, worked for the European Commission between 1976 and 2007, finishing up as head of analyses and tax policies in the taxation directorate-general. He collected the only award to an individual at the ceremony.

Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer took the European Tax Firm of the Year award, which was for the firm which has the best strength and depth in its international tax services and is widely represented throughout Europe.

Other pan-European awards went to Deloitte for transfer pricing and Linklaters for tax litigation. Dorsey & Whitney was the first winner of the European Court of Justice firm of the year award and Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom won for US law firm in Europe. Deloitte in the UK won for best use of the internet and Taxand, a network of independent firms, took the award for best newcomer, which was for firms that are five years old or less.

In addition to the pan-European awards, International Tax Review presented awards for tax and transfer pricing in 24 European jurisdictions – Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Russia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine and UK.

Multiple winners featured strongly at the ceremony. PricewaterhouseCoopers and Deloitte won 12 awards each, Ernst & Young and the Taxand network five each and Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer three.

Other notable achievements included Garrigues, a member of the Taxand network, winning the Spain national tax firm of the year for the fourth year in a row.

In February and March this year, firms in the 24 jurisdictions were invited to submit at least three examples of their best work for the February 2007 to February 2008 period. The submissions were eligible for consideration for the two awards (tax and transfer pricing) in each of the countries, as well as for the eight pan-European awards.

International Tax Review editorial staff considered the submissions, as well as what they already knew about the firms through research for World Tax 2008, to compile shortlists for each award. The shortlists were submitted to a panel of tax executives made up of members of Tax Executives International's European chapter. They chose the winners in consultation with International Tax Review.

Nominees and winners (in bold) are listed below.

Tax Firm of The Year
AustriaArnold, Deloitte, Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer, PricewaterhouseCoopers, Wolf Theiss
BelgiumAllen & Overy, Deloitte, Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer, Liedekerke Wolters Waelbroeck & Kirkpatrick, Loyens & Loeff, PricewaterhouseCoopers
CyprusConsulco, Deloitte, Ernst & Young, Andreas Neocleous & Co, PricewaterhouseCoopers
DenmarkBech-Bruun, Deloitte, Plesner, PricewaterhouseCoopers
FinlandBorenius & Kemppinen, Deloitte, Ernst & Young, Hannes Snellman, Roschier
FranceBredin Prat, Clifford Chance, Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer, Landwell & Associés, Linklaters, Mayer Brown, Taj


Clifford Chance, Deloitte, Flick Gocke Schaumburg, Linklaters, PricewaterhouseCoopers


Deloitte, PricewaterhouseCoopers, Zepos & Yannapoulos


Andrékó Linklaters, Deloitte, Köves Clifford Chance, Nagy és Trócsányi

IrelandA&L Goodbody, Arthur Cox, Deloitte, Ernst & Young, KPMG, Matheson Ormsby Prentice, PricewaterhouseCoopers
ItalyBonelli Erede & Pappalardo, Deloitte, Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer, Lovells


Atoz, Deloitte, Linklaters, Loyens & Loeff, Nauta Dutilh, Oostvogels Pfister Feyten


Deloitte, PricewaterhouseCoopers

NetherlandsAllen & Overy, Baker & McKenzie, Deloitte, Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer, Loyens & Loeff, Nauta Dutilh
NorwayBAHR, Deloitte, Thommessen, Wiersholm Mellbye & Bech
PolandAccreo Taxand, Deloitte, Ernst & Young, Linklaters, MDDP, PricewaterhouseCoopers
PortugalAbreu Advogados, Deloitte, Garrigues, Goncalves Pereira Castelo Branco,
Linklaters, PLMJ, Vieira de Almeida
RussiaDeloitte, KPMG, Linklaters, PricewaterhouseCoopers, Salans
SpainCuatrecasas, Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer, Garrigues, Linklaters, Lovells
SwedenDeloitte, Ernst & Young, Linklaters, Mannheimer Swartling
SwitzerlandBär & Karrer, Deloitte, Ernst & Young, Homburger, PricewaterhouseCoopers, Tax Partner
TurkeyDeloitte, Erdikler, Ernst & Young, Mazars/Denge, PricewaterhouseCoopers


Deloitte, Ernst & Young, Magisters, PricewaterhouseCoopers


Baker & McKenzie, Deloitte, Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer, Linklaters, PricewaterhouseCoopers, Skadden Arps Slate Meagher & Flom

Transfer pricing firm of the year
AustriaDeloitte, PricewaterhouseCoopers
BelgiumDeloitte, KPMG, PricewaterhouseCoopers
DenmarkBech-Bruun, Deloitte, PricewaterhouseCoopers
FinlandDeloitte, KPMG
FranceArsene Taxand, Landwell & Associés, Taj


Deloitte, Ernst & Young, Oppenhoff & Partner, PricewaterhouseCoopers


Deloitte, PricewaterhouseCoopers


Deloitte, Ernst & Young, PricewaterhouseCoopers


Deloitte, PricewaterhouseCoopers, Transfer Pricing Associates


Deloitte, PricewaterhouseCoopers

NetherlandsBaker & McKenzie, Deloitte, Ernst & Young, Transfer Pricing Associates, PricewaterhouseCoopers
NorwayDeloitte, Ernst & Young, PricewaterhouseCoopers
PolandAccreo Taxand, Deloitte, Ernst & Young, MDDP, PricewaterhouseCoopers
PortugalDeloitte, PricewaterhouseCoopers, Transfer Pricing Associates
RussiaDeloitte, KPMG, PricewaterhouseCoopers
SpainAshurst, Deloitte, Garrigues, PricewaterhouseCoopers
SwedenDeloitte, Ernst & Young
SwitzerlandDeloitte, Ernst & Young, PricewaterhouseCoopers, Tax Partner
TurkeyDeloitte, Ernst & Young, Mazars/Denge, PricewaterhouseCoopers


Deloitte, Ernst & Young, PricewaterhouseCoopers


Baker & McKenzie, Deloitte, PricewaterhouseCoopers

European firms of the year
US Tax Firm of the YearLatham & Watkins, McDermott Will & Emery, Skadden Arps Slate Meagher & Flom
European Tax LitigationGarrigues, Linklaters, Lovells , Plesner, PricewaterhouseCoopers
European Transfer PricingBaker & McKenzie, Deloitte, Ernst & Young, PricewaterhouseCoopers
European TaxBaker & McKenzie, Deloitte, Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer, Linklaters, PricewaterhouseCoopers, Skadden Arps Slate Meagher & Flom

Best ECJ Firm

Deloitte, Dorsey & Whitney, Flick Gocke Schaumburg, KPMG Meijburg & Co, KPMG Finland, Loyens & Loeff

Editors' Choice

Michel Aujean

Best Newcomer


Best Use of the Internet

Deloitte in the UK

The material on this site is for financial institutions, professional investors and their professional advisers. It is for information only. Please read our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy before using the site. All material subject to strictly enforced copyright laws.

© 2021 Euromoney Institutional Investor PLC. For help please see our FAQ.

Instant access to all of our content. Membership Options | 30 Day Trial