Copying and distributing are prohibited without permission of the publisher

Global Tax 50 2017: Cecilia Malmström

13 December 2017

Email a friend
  • Please enter a maximum of 5 recipients. Use ; to separate more than one email address.


Cecilia Malmström
Cecilia Malmström is a new entry this year

During her time as the European Commissioner for Trade, Cecilia Malmström has presided over the EU's side of the Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA) with Canada. This kind of free trade agreement stands out as a reminder of what globalisation was like before the protectionist era of US President Donald Trump and Brexit.

CETA constitutes Canada's biggest bilateral trade initiative since the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA) came into force in 1994. The agreement removes duties on 98% of the goods traded between Canada and the EU. Not only does this ease market access for businesses on both sides of the Atlantic, EU companies will save almost $700 million a year thanks to virtually eliminating tariffs on exports to Canada.

"Things are about to change for our exporters," Cecilia Malmström said at the time. "The provisional entry into force allows EU companies and citizens to start reaping the benefits of this agreement right away. This is a positive signal for the global economy, with the potential to boost economic growth and create jobs."

Malmström has put great effort into getting agreement on the CETA after a total of seven years of negotiation.

"CETA is a modern and progressive agreement, underlining our commitment to free and fair trade based on values," Malmström said. "It helps us shape globalisation and the rules that govern global commerce. Moreover, CETA underlines our strong commitment to sustainable development and protects the ability of our governments to regulate in the public interest."

According to the European Commission, the EU exports €53 billion ($63 billion) of goods and services to Canada every year. This trade is linked to 865,000 EU jobs and Canadian companies employ 221,000 workers in EU countries. The expectation is that the new agreement will see trade expand by 20% thanks to the elimination of tariffs.

Given its scope, CETA was no less controversial than NAFTA in some quarters. A common criticism is that these free trade agreements ultimately drive down standards and eliminate barriers for big business, while the little guy loses out.

CETA was particularly controversial in Belgium, where the regional Walloon Parliament opposed the deal on the grounds that it allowed multinationals to sue national governments. In response, the Belgian government called upon the Court of Justice of the European Union (CJEU) to rule on whether the agreement's dispute resolution system was compatible with EU law.

This temporarily stalled the deal in its final stages. After a great deal of haggling, CETA was eventually approved by all 28 EU member states on October 30 2016 and went on to pass through the European Parliament the following February. CETA came into provisional force on September 21 2017 pending ratification by EU member states.

The CJEU ruled that the dispute resolution system of CETA does affect the power of European courts, however, the compatibility of the system with EU law could not be determined by this case alone. But it did later rule that the deal cannot just be ratified by the EU alone and that national parliaments must have a say in the matter.

As a result, CETA has already been ratified by six countries and the process will continue into 2018. Even with the delays, there is more certainty about this agreement than what is happening in many other places in the world.

The Global Tax 50 2017
View the full list and introduction
The top 10 • Ranked in order of influence
1. US Tax Reform Big 6 2. Dawn of the robots
3. The breakdown of global consensus 4. The fifth estate
5. Margrethe Vestager 6. Arun Jaitley
7. Sri Mulyani Indrawati 8. Pascal Saint-Amans and Achim Pross
9. Richard Murphy 10. Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi
The remaining 40 • In alphabetic order
Tomas Balco Piet Battiau
Monica Bhatia Blockchain
Rasmus Corlin Christensen Seamus Coffey
Jeremy Corbyn Rufino de la Rosa
Fabio De Masi The Estonian presidency of the Council of the European Union
Maria Teresa Fabregas Fernandez The fat tax
Maya Forstater Babatunde Fowler
The GE/PwC outsourcing deal The Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC)
International Consortium of Investigative Journalists (ICIJ) Meg Hillier
Chris Jordan Wang Jun
James Karanja Bruno Le Maire
John Pombe Joseph Magufuli Cecilia Malmström
The Maltese presidency of the EU Council Paige Marvel
Theresa May Angela Merkel
Narendra Modi Pierre Moscovici
The European Parliament Committee of Inquiry into Money Laundering, Tax Avoidance and Tax Evasion (PANA) The Paris Agreement
Grace Perez-Navarro Alexandra Readhead
Heather Self TaxCOOP
Tax Justice Network Donald Trump
United Nations Committee of Experts on International Cooperation in Tax Matters WU Global Tax Policy Center






International Tax Review Profile

RT @katkaewhite: I really wish people would stop tweeting out their prayers so those of us in Alaska could actually stay updated via folks…

Jan 23 2018 12:18 ·  reply ·  retweet ·  favourite
International Tax Review Profile

South Korea Reportedly Plans to Hit Bitcoin Exchanges With Massive Tax Bills https://t.co/eydQFpscbu via @FortuneMagazine

Jan 22 2018 05:46 ·  reply ·  retweet ·  favourite
International Tax Review Profile

RT @KPMG: It's time to change the narrative #thefutureisinclusive #WEFLIVE #WEF18 https://t.co/Ahd93iGQmb

Jan 22 2018 04:26 ·  reply ·  retweet ·  favourite
International Tax Review Profile

We believe this is the first time Parliament has been divided on tax treaty ratification in the UK. A debate on a… https://t.co/toFGoVaZ3E

Jan 22 2018 12:00 ·  reply ·  retweet ·  favourite
International Tax Review Profile

RT @SjoerdDouma: Dutch Supreme Court clarifies meaning of 'managed and controlled' in tax treaty Netherlands-Singapore https://t.co/YMUdfqj

Jan 19 2018 04:42 ·  reply ·  retweet ·  favourite
International Correspondents