This content is from: European Union

European Parliament names Panama Papers Committee chair

At the European Parliament’s constitutive meeting in Brussels on July 12, the Parliament’s Panama Papers inquiry committee elected its chair.

The committee inquiry into money laundering, tax avoidance and tax evasion (PANA) has elected German MEP Werner Langen as its chair, by acclamation.

The PANA committee’s mandate is to investigate the European Commission and members states authorities work in tax policies and enforcement. From its findings it will recommend measures to adjust the tax system accordingly. The committee have 12 months to complete the task as the mandate expires on June 8 2017.

The committee members also elected the following as vice-chairs:

  • First vice-chair, Ana Gomes;
  • Second vice-chair, Pirkko Ruohonen-Lerner;
  • Third vice-chair, Fabio de Masi; and
  • Fourth vice-chair, Eva Joly.

Langen is a German politician and member of the European Parliament for Rhineland-Palatinate. He has over 25 years’ of political experience. Langen has held positions in political parties, nation trade union organisations, local government bodies, regional assemblies, national parliament and EU institutions. 

Werner LangenWerner Langen 
Source: European Parliament 

Source: European Parliament 

The material on this site is for financial institutions, professional investors and their professional advisers. It is for information only. Please read our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy before using the site. All material subject to strictly enforced copyright laws.

© 2021 Euromoney Institutional Investor PLC. For help please see our FAQ.


Instant access to all of our content. Membership Options | 30 Day Trial