This content is from: Sponsored Content

Global Tax 50 2015: Mike Williams

Chairman, ad hoc group for the development of a multilateral instrument; director, business and international tax, UK Treasury

Mike Williams
Mike Williams is a new entry this year

Mike Williams is a tax veteran who plays an important role in guiding the UK's international tax policy, but he will have jumped onto even more people's radars when he was appointed as the chairman of the BEPS Action 15 working group for the development of a multilateral instrument.

The ad hoc working group – which was created on May 27 2015, before the final BEPS deliverables were released – will be responsible for drafting the multilateral instrument for implementing BEPS around the world. This will essentially involve putting together treaty amendment rules to facilitate countries in implementing treaty-related BEPS recommendations.

Williams' three vice-chairs in the group are Mohammed Amine Baina of Morocco, China's Liao Tizhong and Kim Jacinto-Henares of the Philippines, all of whom feature in this year's Global Tax 50 list. While each of these figures performed influential roles outside of their Action 15 work over the past year, this showing is testament to the importance of the ad hoc group's work.

The working group has been signed up to by more than 90 countries. The agreement by OECD countries to sign up to a multilateral instrument to modify tax treaties was one of the pivotal aspects of the BEPS Project, and the group will now work to create the instrument capable of modifying the world's 3,500+ bilateral tax treaties.

Williams will need to show strong leadership; the working group has a tough timetable to adhere to, with negotiations on the instrument scheduled to be finished by the end of 2016.

The Global Tax 50 2015
View the full list and introduction
The top 10 • Ranked in order of influence
1. Margrethe Vestager2. Pascal Saint-Amans
3. Wang Jun4. Arun Jaitley
5. Marissa Mayer6. Will Morris
7. Ian Read8. Pierre Moscovici
9. Donato Raponi10. Global Alliance for Tax Justice
The remaining 40 • In alphabetic order
Brigitte Alepin Andrus Ansip
Tamara Ashford Mohammed Amine Baina
Piet Battiau Elise Bean
Monica Bhatia David Bradbury
Winnie Byanyima Mauricio Cardenas
Allison Christians Rita de la Feria
Marlies de Ruiter Judith Freedman
Meg Hillier Vanessa Houlder
Kim Jacinto-Henares Eva Joly
Chris Jordan Jean-Claude Juncker
Alain Lamassoure Juliane Kokott
Armando Lara Yaffar Liao Tizhong
Paige Marvel Angela Merkel
Zach Mider Richard Murphy
George Osborne Achim Pross
Akhilesh Ranjan Alan Robertson
Paul Ryan Tove Maria Ryding
Magdalena Sepulveda Carmona Lee Sheppard
Parthasarathi Shome Robert Stack
Mike Williams Ya-wen Yang

The material on this site is for financial institutions, professional investors and their professional advisers. It is for information only. Please read our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy before using the site. All material subject to strictly enforced copyright laws.

© 2021 Euromoney Institutional Investor PLC. For help please see our FAQ.

Instant access to all of our content. Membership Options | 30 Day Trial