This content is from: Sponsored Content

Global Tax 50 2015: Liao Tizhong

Director general of international taxation, China State Administration of Taxation (SAT)

Liao Tizhong
Liao Tizhong was also in the Global Tax 50 2014, and 2013

Liao Tizhong is another familiar face for Global Tax 50 fans, having featured in the 2013 and 2014 lists, and a tumultuous year for China certainly kept him on his toes during 2015.

At the end of 2014, Liao outlined for ITR the themes on his agenda for the year. Looking back, it is clear that he has delivered on each item on that checklist – from involvement in BEPS and other G20 initiatives to enhancing IT systems to help the SAT function more effectively.

He also pledged to set up organisations to discharge the functions of tax administration on outbound investment and offshore income; another area that was delivered upon in 2015.

Liao was the technical supporter to China's role in the G20 in international tax matters including the BEPS Project, Common Reporting Standard and Multilateral Convention on Mutual Assistance, and was appointed as a vice-chair of the ad hoc group for BEPS Action 15 (multilateral instrument for the revision of tax treaties), along with fellow Global Tax 50 2015 entrants Mohammed Amine Baina and Kim Jacinto-Henares.

In line with China's increasing desire to play a lead role in global affairs, Liao championed the national strategy for the outbound investment elements attached to the 'One Belt One Road' initiative, making the strategy more viable through the provision of better tax services and the reduction of burdens for investors into major countries along the belt and road.

He has been quick to look at the best ways to implement BEPS deliverables and has used the opportunity to revise many Chinese international tax rules to foster the country's integration into globalisation – work that will continue to occupy him throughout 2016.

Liao says he wants to continue to push China from norm-taker to norm-shaper in the year ahead. With lead roles in a number of forums, 2016 is going to ensure Liao is busier than ever, particularly as Action 15 work intensifies and the G20 Summit and Forum on Tax Administration plenary meeting approach.

The Global Tax 50 2015
View the full list and introduction
The top 10 • Ranked in order of influence
1. Margrethe Vestager2. Pascal Saint-Amans
3. Wang Jun4. Arun Jaitley
5. Marissa Mayer6. Will Morris
7. Ian Read8. Pierre Moscovici
9. Donato Raponi10. Global Alliance for Tax Justice
The remaining 40 • In alphabetic order
Brigitte Alepin Andrus Ansip
Tamara Ashford Mohammed Amine Baina
Piet Battiau Elise Bean
Monica Bhatia David Bradbury
Winnie Byanyima Mauricio Cardenas
Allison Christians Rita de la Feria
Marlies de Ruiter Judith Freedman
Meg Hillier Vanessa Houlder
Kim Jacinto-Henares Eva Joly
Chris Jordan Jean-Claude Juncker
Alain Lamassoure Juliane Kokott
Armando Lara Yaffar Liao Tizhong
Paige Marvel Angela Merkel
Zach Mider Richard Murphy
George Osborne Achim Pross
Akhilesh Ranjan Alan Robertson
Paul Ryan Tove Maria Ryding
Magdalena Sepulveda Carmona Lee Sheppard
Parthasarathi Shome Robert Stack
Mike Williams Ya-wen Yang

The material on this site is for financial institutions, professional investors and their professional advisers. It is for information only. Please read our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy before using the site. All material subject to strictly enforced copyright laws.

© 2021 Euromoney Institutional Investor PLC. For help please see our FAQ.

Instant access to all of our content. Membership Options | 30 Day Trial