ITR Global Tax 50 2022: Sune Hein Bertelsen
International Tax Review is part of Legal Benchmarking Limited, 4 Bouverie Street, London, EC4Y 8AX
Copyright © Legal Benchmarking Limited and its affiliated companies 2024

Accessibility | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Modern Slavery Statement

ITR Global Tax 50 2022: Sune Hein Bertelsen

Chair of tax policy group, BusinessEurope

Sune Hein Bertelsen.jpg

As chair of the tax policy group at BusinessEurope, Sune Hein Bertelsen is a crucial voice for European businesses when it comes to EU tax policy and beyond. The tax policy group seeks to represent companies large and small from 35 European countries, including 27 EU member states.

Bertelsen is the head of tax law and international tax at the Confederation of Danish Industry (DI) in Copenhagen. He joined the DI in 2014 and became a member of BusinessEurope as part of his role. He previously worked as a tax attorney at Danish corporate law firm Gorrissen Federspiel.

At the same time, Bertelsen has been a member of the tax committee Business and Industry Advisory Committee (BIAC) to the OECD, as well as the tax commission of the International Chamber of Commerce.

Bertelsen may be one of the most well-connected experts in the tax world. He will go into 2023 representing businesses on tax policy at multiple levels. His work is far from over.

Global Tax 50 2022

Breaking down the entire 50 individually according to the impact they made would require too granular an approach. Each entry is in alphabetical order as part of categories, i.e. individuals, to make it simpler to navigate.

Industry figures
Tax authorities
Public officials
Noteworthy individuals
Vice president of global transfer pricing and tax disputes, Johnson & Johnson
Chair of tax policy group, BusinessEurope
Director and head of international tax for Meta Latin America
Head of transfer pricing, AstraZeneca
Executive vice president of global tax and treasury, Unilever
Global head of tax, Siemens
Chair of the taxation committee, USCIB
Chair of the tax committee at BIAC
Commissioner of the Canada Revenue Agency
Commissioner of SARS
Minister of Revenue, New Zealand
Former IRS commissioner
Commissioner of the State Tax Administration
Executive secretary of ATAF
Director of direct taxation, coordination, economic analysis and evaluation, European Commission
Minister of finance, budget and national planning, Nigeria
US president
Departing president of Brazil
Secretariat of the economy, Mexico
Acting Head of the Tax Policy and Statistics Division, OECD
Co-chairs of the UN Committee of Experts on International Cooperation in Tax Matters (UN Tax Committee)
Commissioner for the economy, European Commission
Minister of finance, Indonesia
Head of TIWB secretariat
Prime minister of Japan
US senators
Director-general of the Public Debt Management Office, Thai Ministry of Finance
Chair of the House Ways & Means Committee
Director of the OECD’s Centre for Tax Policy and Administration
Head of the GloBE unit, OECD
President of Colombia
Acting deputy director of the Centre for Tax Policy and Administration, OECD
Former director of the Centre for Tax Policy and Administration, OECD
Lord of Kingswood, UK
Minister of finance and corporate affairs, India
UK prime minister and chancellor of the exchequer
Chair of the Senate Finance Committee
Secretary of the US Treasury
CEO and global chairman, EY
Tax attorney, blogger and podcaster, Taxgirl
Former Uber lobbyist
Director of Tax Research UK
Director of Tax Policy Associates
CEO of Opportunity Green
Chief executive of Tax Justice Network
Acting director of TaxWatch
Former responsible tax lead at PIRC
Chief executive of Fair Tax Foundation
Director of the ICIJ
Principal analyst for CICTAR
Gift this article