ITR Global Tax 50 2022: Grace Perez-Navarro
International Tax Review is part of the Delinian Group, Delinian Limited, 4 Bouverie Street, London, EC4Y 8AX, Registered in England & Wales, Company number 00954730
Copyright © Delinian Limited and its affiliated companies 2024

Accessibility | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Modern Slavery Statement

ITR Global Tax 50 2022: Grace Perez-Navarro

Director of the OECD’s Centre for Tax Policy and Administration

Portrait/Headshot: Grace Perez-Navarro, Deputy Director , CTP, OECD

Grace Perez-Navarro was the natural choice for director after Pascal Saint-Amans announced his retirement and stepped down in November 2022. She served as deputy director at the Centre for Tax Policy and Administration for more than 15 years.

As a leading figure at the OECD, Perez-Navarro has played an integral role in designing the BEPS project, raising the standards of international tax and working on the two-pillar solution for the digital economy.

As honorary chair of the OECD Women’s Network, Perez-Navarro has worked to promote women’s leadership in tax policy including in tax transparency.

Before joining the OECD, Perez-Navarro began her career at the US Internal Revenue Service (IRS). She oversaw IRS work on guidance on international tax and information exchange agreements, as well as litigation.

She moved to the OECD in 1997 and has held several key positions since, covering areas such as tax and e-commerce, banking secrecy, as well as harmful tax practices, corruption and money laundering.

After 25 years of service at the OECD, Perez-Navarro is one of the most influential policymakers in the world of tax. Unless things change she is set to serve as director of the tax centre until March 31 2023, but it’s certain her legacy in international tax will last for years to come.

Global Tax 50 2022

Breaking down the entire 50 individually according to the impact they made would require too granular an approach. Each entry is in alphabetical order as part of categories, i.e. individuals, to make it simpler to navigate.

Industry figures
Tax authorities
Public officials
Noteworthy individuals
Vice president of global transfer pricing and tax disputes, Johnson & Johnson
Chair of tax policy group, BusinessEurope
Director and head of international tax for Meta Latin America
Head of transfer pricing, AstraZeneca
Executive vice president of global tax and treasury, Unilever
Global head of tax, Siemens
Chair of the taxation committee, USCIB
Chair of the tax committee at BIAC
Commissioner of the Canada Revenue Agency
Commissioner of SARS
Minister of Revenue, New Zealand
Former IRS commissioner
Commissioner of the State Tax Administration
Executive secretary of ATAF
Director of direct taxation, coordination, economic analysis and evaluation, European Commission
Minister of finance, budget and national planning, Nigeria
US president
Departing president of Brazil
Secretariat of the economy, Mexico
Acting Head of the Tax Policy and Statistics Division, OECD
Co-chairs of the UN Committee of Experts on International Cooperation in Tax Matters (UN Tax Committee)
Commissioner for the economy, European Commission
Minister of finance, Indonesia
Head of TIWB secretariat
Prime minister of Japan
US senators
Director-general of the Public Debt Management Office, Thai Ministry of Finance
Chair of the House Ways & Means Committee
Director of the OECD’s Centre for Tax Policy and Administration
Head of the GloBE unit, OECD
President of Colombia
Acting deputy director of the Centre for Tax Policy and Administration, OECD
Former director of the Centre for Tax Policy and Administration, OECD
Lord of Kingswood, UK
Minister of finance and corporate affairs, India
UK prime minister and chancellor of the exchequer
Chair of the Senate Finance Committee
Secretary of the US Treasury
CEO and global chairman, EY
Tax attorney, blogger and podcaster, Taxgirl
Former Uber lobbyist
Director of Tax Research UK
Director of Tax Policy Associates
CEO of Opportunity Green
Chief executive of Tax Justice Network
Acting director of TaxWatch
Former responsible tax lead at PIRC
Chief executive of Fair Tax Foundation
Director of the ICIJ
Principal analyst for CICTAR
Gift this article