This content is from: Sponsored Content

Global Tax 50 2015: Akhilesh Ranjan

Competent authority, India

Akhilesh Ranjan
Akhilesh Ranjan is a new entry this year

As the Global Tax 50 2013 entry for Akhilesh Ranjan points out, the man cannot help being influential by virtue of his role as Indian competent authority. But 2015 saw the influence of Ranjan – joint secretary, foreign taxation, in the Ministry of Finance – increase further for two main reasons.

First, India continued to focus policy on attracting investment. This is good news for foreign investors and government revenues alike, and is already triggering greater interest in business expansion in the country from overseas investors, but the flipside for Ranjan is that any resulting treaty issues may land on his desk.

Second, Ranjan took the lead role for India in the BEPS Project. Following from this, Ranjan has established a committee to analyse what India should do in response to digital economy concerns highlighted under BEPS processes; and has confirmed that India will introduce legislation for country-by-country reporting (CbCR) for FY 2016-2017 onwards.

With so much reform action on the horizon, Ranjan can expect to be kept busy for the remainder of his five-year term as competent authority, which began in 2013.

The Global Tax 50 2015
View the full list and introduction
The top 10 • Ranked in order of influence
1. Margrethe Vestager2. Pascal Saint-Amans
3. Wang Jun4. Arun Jaitley
5. Marissa Mayer6. Will Morris
7. Ian Read8. Pierre Moscovici
9. Donato Raponi10. Global Alliance for Tax Justice
The remaining 40 • In alphabetic order
Brigitte Alepin Andrus Ansip
Tamara Ashford Mohammed Amine Baina
Piet Battiau Elise Bean
Monica Bhatia David Bradbury
Winnie Byanyima Mauricio Cardenas
Allison Christians Rita de la Feria
Marlies de Ruiter Judith Freedman
Meg Hillier Vanessa Houlder
Kim Jacinto-Henares Eva Joly
Chris Jordan Jean-Claude Juncker
Alain Lamassoure Juliane Kokott
Armando Lara Yaffar Liao Tizhong
Paige Marvel Angela Merkel
Zach Mider Richard Murphy
George Osborne Achim Pross
Akhilesh Ranjan Alan Robertson
Paul Ryan Tove Maria Ryding
Magdalena Sepulveda Carmona Lee Sheppard
Parthasarathi Shome Robert Stack
Mike Williams Ya-wen Yang

The material on this site is for financial institutions, professional investors and their professional advisers. It is for information only. Please read our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy before using the site. All material subject to strictly enforced copyright laws.

© 2021 Euromoney Institutional Investor PLC. For help please see our FAQ.

Instant access to all of our content. Membership Options | 30 Day Trial