Copying and distributing are prohibited without permission of the publisher

FATCA implementation delayed until 2014

15 July 2011

On July 14 the US Treasury Department and the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) issued Notice 2011-53, which includes dates by which foreign financial institutions and US withholding agents must apply the rules in the Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act (FATCA).

Most importantly, it postpones levying FATCA’s associated taxes until January 1 2014, rather than 2013 as originally stipulated.

  “FATCA is an important development in US efforts to combat offshore non-compliance,” said IRS Commissioner Doug Shulman in a press release.   “At the same time, the IRS recognises that implementing FATCA is a major undertaking for financial institutions,” he added.

“[The July 14] notice is a reflection of our serious commitment to implementation of the statute, but also a serious commitment to listen to the implementation challenges of affected financial institutions and make appropriate adjustment to ensure a smooth and timely roll-out,” he said.

FATCA, which was signed into law March 18 2010, forces foreign financial entities to...



This article is locked content, available to current subscribers or trialists.

  • Current subscribers or trialists - Please log in to view this article in full.
  • New users - Please take a free 7 day trial.
  • Expired subscribers or trialists - Please subscribe to gain immediate full access.

If you think you've received this message in error, please contact your account manager, Nick Burroughs:
Email: nburroughs@euromoneyplc.com, Tel: +44 (0)207 779 8379

Subscribe now

Subscribe today to gain full access to International Tax Review.

Subscribe

Free trial

Take a free trial now and gain 7 days of full access to International Tax Review.

Free trial





International Tax Review Profile

#PokemonGO could get caught in tax bubble. See ITR's commentary on the popular #app here: https://t.co/NVceYezz8B

Jul 27 2016 02:39 ·  reply ·  retweet ·  favourite
International Tax Review Profile

Michel Barnier is the EU's Chief Negotiator for #Brexit. He was the former EU Commission VP and a French minister. https://t.co/434odVTl4Z

Jul 27 2016 12:31 ·  reply ·  retweet ·  favourite
International Tax Review Profile

Corporate tax professionals - don't miss out on our #brexit survey. The only way to ge the results is to take it! https://t.co/WcGVC6eKed

Jul 27 2016 09:52 ·  reply ·  retweet ·  favourite
International Tax Review Profile

@blockchain Hi - could we use your logo as a picture in an article we're writing? Thanks

Jul 26 2016 01:32 ·  reply ·  retweet ·  favourite
International Tax Review Profile

India consults on draft rules determining the taxable amount of income from company buy-backs of unlisted shares https://t.co/j7ayoo27eP

Jul 25 2016 03:23 ·  reply ·  retweet ·  favourite
International Correspondents