Copying and distributing are prohibited without permission of the publisher

Indirect Tax Archive

  • December 2017

    ECJ sets precedent for VAT calculation rebates in the pharmaceutical industry

    December 21, 2017

    In the EU case involving global pharmaceutical company Boehringer Ingelheim, the European Court of Justice (ECJ) has set precedent on the long-debated matter of how rebates should be treated for VAT purposes when they are provided to parties not operating in the same distribution chain. Jan Sanders, who has been professionally analysing the matter for several years, discusses the impact of the ruling, which is significant for drug makers, health insurers and governments throughout the whole EU.

  • The surprising ways governments and tech companies are working together to close tax loopholes and promote compliance

    December 14, 2017

    Historically, there has been long-standing friction between governments and businesses due to complexities within outdated tax laws and compliance processes. As a result, businesses face many obstacles and take on additional costs as they look to grow and expand, while governments fail to collect the true taxes owed, hurting their ability to effectively serve their community.

  • ECJ: Postal address on invoice for VAT purposes is sufficient

    December 11, 2017

    The European Court of Justice’s decision on the possibility of using postal addresses on invoices confirms how the EU VAT Directive should be interpreted. However, the ruling is not restricted to suppliers.

  • Brexit means full alignment on customs

    December 08, 2017

    After months of gruelling negotiations, the EU and the UK have finally settled on the first parts of a Brexit deal covering the questions around the single market and customs union with major implications for tax policy.

  • EU to step up information sharing in digital VAT fraud plan

    December 04, 2017

    The European Commission (EC) has proposed new tools to help its member states combat VAT fraud through greater information sharing.

  • UAE and Saudi Arabia ready for VAT: Are you prepared?

    December 01, 2017

    The United Arab Emirates and Saudi Arabia have published their final VAT laws, but questions remain over just how ready the GCC and its taxpayers are for VAT with only a month to go.

International Tax Review Profile

Following last night's #EuropeanTaxAwards, our next London event is our Leading Women in Tax Forum. Details here:… https://t.co/6BeuOVBqiV

May 18 2018 01:57 ·  reply ·  retweet ·  favourite
International Tax Review Profile

That's it from us for tonight... Congratulations to all of our winners tonight, and congratulations to you, too, if… https://t.co/hLKCJF8xU1

May 18 2018 02:00 ·  reply ·  retweet ·  favourite
International Tax Review Profile

Our final award of the night, for the European Tax Firm of the Year, goes to... @Deloitte! Congratulations! #EuropeanTaxAwards

May 18 2018 01:50 ·  reply ·  retweet ·  favourite
International Tax Review Profile

It's @ey! Congratulations, Transfer Pricing Firm of the Year! #EuropeanTaxAwards

May 18 2018 01:45 ·  reply ·  retweet ·  favourite
International Tax Review Profile

It's time for the biggest transfer pricing prize of the night: The European Transfer Pricing Firm of the Year award. And the winner is...

May 18 2018 01:40 ·  reply ·  retweet ·  favourite
International Correspondents