Copying and distributing are prohibited without permission of the publisher

Corporate Tax

Corporate Tax archive
  • Singapore denies 'thwarting' Indonesia’s tax amnesty

    July 25, 2016

    Accusations made by the Indonesian media on incentives offered by Singapore to retain Indonesian assets after the launch of Indonesia’s tax amnesty has created an unfriendly atmosphere between Singapore and Indonesia.

  • Tax practitioners warned of increasing data theft

    July 20, 2016

    Taxpayers already struggling to meet new reporting standards should also beware of the ever-increasing risk of data theft, the IRS has warned. It found that companies lose more than half a million US dollars during an average cyberattack.

  • Survey: Brexit readiness barometer

    July 19, 2016

    Brexit has bolstered uncertainty in the tax system and while the UK’s relationship with the EU is evolving, understanding and planning for your business’s next steps during this ambiguity is vital.

  • EU fiscal unity regimes called into question

    July 14, 2016

    Fiscal unity regimes across EU member states could become more advantageous for corporations in cross-border fiscal groups.

  • Investing in India: How structuring dynamics change to keep pace with tax policies

    July 14, 2016

    Sanjay Sanghvi and Ritu Shaktawat, partner and principal associate at Khaitan & Co in India, investigate how India’s revised DTAs and evolving tax laws are changing the way various structures are used for foreign direct investments in India.

  • European Parliament names Panama Papers Committee chair

    July 13, 2016

    At the European Parliament’s constitutive meeting in Brussels on July 12, the Parliament’s Panama Papers inquiry committee elected its chair.

  • Australian federal election: What it means for tax

    July 13, 2016

    Malcolm Turnbull has won the Australian federal election to remain as Prime Minister, but the lack of a strong majority is likely to give way to political uncertainty around planned corporate tax measures.

  • Singapore proposes laws to enact CRS and CbCR

    July 12, 2016

    The Inland Revenue Authority of Singapore (IRAS) is consulting on draft laws to introduce a number of corporate taxation changes announced in the 2016 Budget.

  • ECOFIN adopts rules to tackle multinational tax avoidance

    July 12, 2016

    European finance ministers have adopted proposals to crack down on aggressive tax planning by multinationals with the Anti-Tax Avoidance Directive.

  • Board accountability: A new era

    July 12, 2016

    Efforts to improve tax transparency in the post-BEPS environment have shifted the tax accountability of corporations to their boards of directors. Keith Brockman considers the implications of these changes.

  • Brexit: Navigating the tax minefield

    July 12, 2016

    The UK’s vote to leave the European Union has spurred multinationals in the UK, Europe, North America and Asia to reconsider their operations in Britain. Anjana Haines looks at the potential tax implications of a post-Brexit UK and its relationship with the EU.

  • Whistleblowers found guilty in LuxLeaks trial

    July 12, 2016

    A judgment that has outraged NGOs, the public and some progressive politicians has found Antoine Deltour and Raphaël Halet, who exposed an enormous tax scandal in Luxembourg, guilty in the LuxLeaks trial. Amelia Schwanke examines what this verdict will mean for the fight for transparency and whistleblowers in Europe.

  • Key takeaways from India’s GST Bill for multinationals

    July 12, 2016

    Amelia Schwanke outlines the details of India’s GST Bill and highlights the new rules that companies will need to comply with if the regime is introduced next year.

  • Brexit: Withholding taxes ahead for businesses

    July 12, 2016

    Multinational enterprises are considering whether to move their UK headquarters to one of the remaining 27 EU nations, as withholding taxes could be charged once EU laws cease to apply.

  • Brexit: What next for UK businesses?

    July 12, 2016

    The UK’s vote to leave the EU is expected to trigger changes to tax legislation, potentially driving up the compliance and administrative burden for businesses. So what should multinationals be considering?

  • Brexit: Worldwide winners and losers

    July 12, 2016

    As the UK's relationship with the EU evolves following the vote to leave, many nations are considering how they can benefit from the UK's exit, or whether they themselves need to make changes.

  • Proposed financing regulations mean radical changes for companies in US and abroad

    July 12, 2016

    The tax aspects of internal and external financing of multi-national corporations and cross-border businesses on both sides of the Atlantic are undergoing radical change.

  • European Commission’s next phase for tax transparency

    July 07, 2016

    The LuxLeaks and Panama Papers have pushed the European Commission to set out more actions on tax transparency, tax avoidance and evasion.

  • EU Parliament votes on fairer taxation measures

    July 07, 2016

    The EU is a step closer to introducing an EU-wide withholding tax on company profits leaving the bloc, as well as several new compliance and tax rules.

  • UK plans to cut 20% corporate tax rate

    July 04, 2016

    The UK plans to cut the corporation tax rate to the lowest of any major economy to attract businesses and investment post-Brexit, sparking concerns in the European Union that this could give the UK tax-haven status and trigger a 'race to the bottom'.

  • OECD recruits more nations to adopt BEPS plan

    July 01, 2016

    Representatives from over 80 jurisdictions have come together to advance ongoing efforts on international taxation with the OECD BEPS project.

  • EU Anti-Avoidance Directive and Irish Holding Companies – Taxation of Dividends

    July 01, 2016

    The hastily adopted EU Anti-Avoidance Directive ("Directive") requires European Union (EU) member states to introduce or amend their existing Controlled Foreign Companies ("CFC") legislation.

  • US corporate tax cuts possible under Republicans' tax reform proposals

    July 01, 2016

    In a development that could reshape the US tax system, the House Republicans released a long-awaited tax reform blueprint to simplify the country’s federal tax structure.

  • Q&A with Paramount Pictures' director of international tax

    July 01, 2016

    Harm Oortwijn, director of international tax at Paramount Pictures for nine years now, talks to Amelia Schwanke about the in-house tax environment and how it is changing.

Click here for more articles
International Tax Review Profile

@blockchain Hi - could we use your logo as a picture in an article we're writing? Thanks

Jul 26 2016 01:32 ·  reply ·  retweet ·  favourite
International Tax Review Profile

India consults on draft rules determining the taxable amount of income from company buy-backs of unlisted shares https://t.co/j7ayoo27eP

Jul 25 2016 03:23 ·  reply ·  retweet ·  favourite
International Tax Review Profile

Take our #Brexit survey to find out what other inhouse tax professionals are doing? https://t.co/WcGVC5X8PD https://t.co/FwSZ0gh4w0

Jul 25 2016 10:51 ·  reply ·  retweet ·  favourite
International Tax Review Profile

Would you like to know what your peers are doing in response to #Brexit?Take our survey now https://t.co/WcGVC5X8PD https://t.co/bzjwucU60Q

Jul 24 2016 01:48 ·  reply ·  retweet ·  favourite
International Tax Review Profile

Calling all inhouse tax professionals - please spare 5 minutes for our #brexit survey https://t.co/WcGVC5X8PD https://t.co/ksRnlRW3LP

Jul 23 2016 10:47 ·  reply ·  retweet ·  favourite
International Correspondents